Sunshine

Spring is here.  Yes, it is still cold some days, but spring is here.

This weekend I planted out my pea starts.  Next to them I set little beer traps for the slugs who will no doubt come.

I also got pepper and tomato seeds started.  Ideally I would have started them two weeks ago, but they will still do fine.  Last year my peppers liked being raised on a heat mat.  They love heat.  This year I plan to grow them in three gallon black plastic planters in our driveway.  It gets really hot.  (yes, I know about the ickiness of heated plastic)

I only started a few tomatoes.  I planted eight total.  Two each of my four favorite varieties from last year.  My husband picked out some new varieties at the store too.  Maybe I will be nice and start those for him too.  And we always need cherry tomatoes for my step daughter and the neighbor girl.  They love them.

Last year we grew the tiniest cherry tomatoes.  Sweet Pea cherry tomatoes they were called.  It took us a while to figure it out, but they are perfect for drying.  Not the best fresh, but perfect dried.  I wish I had saved their seeds.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

