chickens are people too

Today is a bit of a sad day in the animal world at our house.  If you recall, my chicken Nimbus was broody and laying on her unfertilized eggs. Last night my husband and I took her out from her nest and put her in a small wire cage outside in the chicken enclosure. Apparently the wind under her, together with having no place to make a nest, will bring her out of her broodiness.  She has food, water, and fresh grass, as well as a piece of cardboard to lay on.

It is sad because she just wanted to be a mama.  I feel bad for treating an aspiring mama so harshly.  Putting her in the wire cage and all.  I hope that within a few days she will be ready to be let out.  Dundren is keeping her company, as is Bubba Grace, our new cat.

Also, my dog Rudy had a seizure today.  He has them sometimes.  The vet said that they will not really hurt him, although they are probably uncomfortable and scary when they happen.  We chose to keep him off medication and just deal with them when they occur. It has been a long time since his last seizure.  He is doing ok now, and laying in the sun.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in animals, chickens. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to chickens are people too

  1. Annie says:

    Oh buddy. Love to your animals, and love to you for loving them so. I hope they’re doing better now. Beautiful post.

What'd ya think?

