mid July

I just moved Nimbus, the lovely chicken, from her nest under our stick pile.  She had laid 18 white eggs under there, and had been missing for a week.  The whole week I felt that if she was alive, she was under there somewhere.  And she was.  The night before she disappeared I had seen a raccoon in the conifer near the stick pile.  I thought that raccoon might be the other possible explanation for her disappearance.

My husband was out of town for the last week, and it is a lot of work to take care of all these animals on my own.  They each have their own needs and their own time schedule. Bubba Grace, the cat who we took in, has made life more difficult. I have to shut her in the bedroom if I want Rudy, our dog, to pass through the kitchen or out the back door. Also, I now have to feed our cat Christmas outdoors.  However, in Bubba Grace’s defense, she also made our lives more wonderful by having her kittens here.  We have found all the kittens homes, and only one is still living with us.  After next week he will move in with our neighbors.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

