Waking up the garden bed

image

image

image

Today I laid chicken dirt on the center bed in my front yard. 

I call it chicken dirt because to call it chicken manure would be to exaggerate its potency. 

The dirt I laid down today started off as weeds.  I am unwilling to compost weeds in my compost bin because I don’t want them to regrow in my garden once I spread my compost on it.  So I toss weeds in the chicken yard, behind the coop.  The chickens are kind enough to eat the weed seeds, scratch around in the pile, poop on it, and generally turn it to dirt.  The dirt I spread today has already been dirt for at least a year, so I feel secure not only in the fact that weeds will not sprout from it, but also that the chicken poop will not burn my plants.

Here are some photos of the newly dressed bed getting ready for spring.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in garden. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

