Turning Waste into Want

Our new backyard is not yet a paradise by any means.  There was a lot of junk in it and a lot of stuff left in it.  Here are a few pictures to give you an idea…

image

image

image

One of the pieces of junk lying around was a big soaking wet bag of old wood chips.  I thought I was going to have to put it out in our rolling composting bin for the city to pick up when I had a great idea.  I took out into the chicken enclosure and ripped it open and let the chickens have it.  They scratched through out, spreading it all around looking for bugs.  Now the ground in half of their enclousure is covered in wood shavings.  They loved it.

image

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in chickens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

