Modern Homestead

Tonight at 5:30 we had hamburgers and fries and pop, to go, from a local burger joint. Now, later in the evening, homemade chicken noodle soup and fresh home baked rolls are ready for second dinner.

image

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baking, cooking, kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Modern Homestead

  1. Teresa says:

    Is your homemade chicken noodle soup recipe posted somewhere? What about those rolls? Both look wonderful.

    • Erin says:

      Hi! For my chicken noodle soup I improvised and cooked two chicken breasts in a pot of hot water with two veggie bouillon cubes. As the chicken cooked I cut it up with scissors (told you I was improvising!) Then I added salt and pepper and herbs (oregano, marjorum, and thyme, as well as a little hot sauce). I cut up carrots and celery and garlic and onions and added those as well and let the soup cook. At the very end I added wide egg noddles and let those cook until they were tender. The end. It’s important to add the noodles last because they can get soggy. My friend told me once that her mother would cook her noodles separately and oil them a bit and then add some to each small pot of soup she would heat up, thus keeping the noddles firm for days.

      As far as my rolls go I followed Molie Katzen’s Basic Bread Recipe from her cookbook, The Enchanted Broccoli Forest. I made one inch round dough balls per her directions and then put three a piece in butter muffin tins. They rise and ‘grow’ into one another and after they have been baked they are three leaf clover rolls which can be pulled apart into three pieces if desired. The Basic Bread Recipe makes a half white flour half whole wheat flour bread.

      Chicken noodle soup is a perfect warming meal for this time of year!

      Thanks for your questions. Glad to see folks enjoying the blog!

What'd ya think?

