My chickens need TLC

The ladies are not free range these days. Earlier this fall they were getting very adventurous and were taking strolls as far away as three houses down and across the street.  This scared me. I was afraid a dog might get them, or that they might devour a neighbor’s garden.

So for the past month and a half the ladies have been chillin in their enclosure. They’ve been surprisingly cool with this arrangement. I give them their scraps every day, keep their straw fresh, keep their grain dish supplied, and feed them grain by hand.

But they need some serious loving attention from me. For starters, their coop is not yet winterized. My husband built the coop in warm weather with only chicken wire on the front, so as to let in the breeze. This is great in the summer, but not so great in the cold wet winter. So every winter we have to board up the front of the coop to keep the rain out.

The ladies also need a small dry covered area to take their dust baths in.

I’ll keep you posted.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in chickens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My chickens need TLC

  1. Oh dear. They did venture a bit far, didn’t they! At least they are safe now. 🙂

  2. We too had to coop ours. We lost a lot of girls to I don’t know what. Sad they feel the need to push their boundaries the way they do. We still have to finish their living quarters for winter! They do have a nice sized fenced in “yard” but it is not the same as running wild! Poor babies, but it’s for their own good. Replacing chickens can get expensive.

  3. QUICK PUT IT UP!! About a week of Autumn left!

What'd ya think?

