Organization

As life proceeds and I get older, I am attempting to become more organized. This means making sure things get where they’re supposed to go, and giving those things distinct places to go.

Here are a few new organizational tid bits that I have put into place at our new house:

Many laundry baskets. We have always had laundry baskets in our bedrooms, but now I have also added laundry baskets both outside the upstairs bathroom, and next to the kitchen. This allows the laundry to immediately get where it’s going and not pile up in random places. It also keeps it pretty well sorted. The one outside the bathroom is mostly towels, hand towels, and washcloths. The one near the kitchen is mostly kitchen towels, potholders, and towels and whatnot from the downstairs bathroom. This allows me to take a laundry basket to the washer and throw a load in, virtually unsorted.

We now have a recycling basket in our bedroom. Before this I’d always have a little pile of paper waiting to get taken to the recycling bin. Much more tidy.

Downstairs bathroom garbage. Yes

Glass recycling basket. Yes. Finally.

Craft room!!! Oh yeah

We have two compost buckets on the counter. A big one for regular compost and a small one for scraps that the chickens would like. I got this idea from my step daughter’s mom, who has this same system at her house. It works great.

As I continue to get more organized I would like to have a recycling basket in each bathroom to assure that no empty toilet paper rolls make their way into the trash. Also, I’d love to have two garbages in each bathroom, one labeled “Just Toilet Paper”. This way we could compost the toilet paper that folks use to blow their nose and whatnot. This may sound gross, but I ask you, which is grosser, composting snotty toilet paper or putting it in a landfill where it cannot decompose because their is no oxygen?

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

