crafting versus gardening

Some of you gardeners may have been disappointed recently with the lack of plants in the posts.  First let me say – I am too.  I wish I had a beautiful bursting winter garden to blog about.  But I don’t.  I have garlic (more on that soon), and a few little leeks.  Having a baby and moving did what I knew it would do to my gardening.  It brought me back to ground zero.  But it was well worth it.  I now have a wonderful cheery little baby girl and a beautiful home. … but no real garden to speak of.

But hold on, it’s coming.  Have faith in me.  I will make a garden here, and it will be beautiful.

This time of year I just get in the mood to to play with wool and hold it in my hands and do sooo many crafty projects.  In summer I usually feel that I am neglecting crafting, and in winter I feel I am not paying enough attention to the plants. But there is a rhythm in the tasks we do, in accordance to the seasons.

Also, it’s December.  One of my favorite gardening guides says in the December section ‘sit back with a nice cup of tea and plan next year’s garden.’ And I am.  Garden plan posts soon to come.

The outside world here is grey and damp.  Some days are beautiful, but I sure am grateful for my cozy house.

But don’t give up on me, plant people. I will be back with talk and pictures of plants and gardens and plans.  Just wait, I promise, it’s coming.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to crafting versus gardening

  1. Katie says:

    You are right, tis the season for crafts and sewing, catching up on the things the garden took us away from all summer! I, too, have the wool bug right now. Enjoying your posts!

What'd ya think?

