Satisfied today

This morning I baked fresh bread. The recipe I use makes two loaves. I made my first loaf a plain loaf with a seed crust. I had wanted to bake a yummy sweet thing as well, so to shorten my time in the kitchen I just made the second loaf into a cinnamon bread. I rolled out the kneaded dough, spread it with butter and vanilla and sprinkled on salt, maple sugar, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Then I rolled it up and baked it. When it came out I spread the top with butter and homemade icing.  The icing was my first ever and pretty easy. I just melted some butter and powered sugar on the stove, stirring constantly, then mixed in a little vanilla and salt. It turned out really well.

 

I cooked lunch and dinner and provided several snacks for everyone.

 

I also snuck in 15 minutes of time working on the string fencing around the garlic bed.  I put metal fencing posts on either side of the opening and then leaned the old chicken enclosure door against the posts. I also filled in some big gaps in the fencing with more string and some branchy twigs.

 

While I was doing that I let the chickens out and let them roam and dig away. They were so happy.  They have been itching to get out and scratch around and eat up all the bugs and new shoots that are coming out. Now that the garlic is better protected they will get to come out more often.

 

I also managed to go on a walk with my family and enjoy this beautiful spring day AND I got to go grocery shopping alone while my husband watched the baby. I am feeling satisfied with my homemaking job today.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baking, bread, chickens, cooking, garden, kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

