Homemade Baby Pants Pattern

I took the advice of a blogging mama on line and used a favorite pair of baby pants to make a pattern. I laid out one pair of River’s stretchy comfy organic cotton pants and traced both the front and back leg panels onto printing paper. I had to tape several sheets of paper together. I gave extra room to account for growing room and seam allowances.

I’m part way through making them. I did this while the Challah was rising! I told you I’ve been busy. Here are some pictures.

20130310-230109.jpg

20130310-230143.jpg

Using canning books and cookbooks as weights to hold the fabric down!

20130310-230206.jpg

20130310-230240.jpg

20130310-230301.jpg

20130310-230326.jpg

20130310-230343.jpg

I cut some of the panels out so that the corduroy runs in a funny direction, but hey…

I’m not the world’s best seamstress, but I’m a seamstress none the less.  I’ll keep you posted as to how they turn out.  They’re about half sewn right now.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baby, crafting, sewing, thrifty. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Baby Pants Pattern

  1. Tracy says:

    Erin, this is uncanny! I’ve been trying out a bunch of baby pants patterns from different sewing blogs. Sooo easy. Also we have been switching to cloth so we needed some pants that would acommodate junk in the trunk!

What'd ya think?