Necessary Spring Veggies

I have lived in the Pacific Northwest for almost six years now. And I have gardened each of those springs. At this point, there are a few spring veggies that I won’t do without.

I use the Seattle Tilth as my growing guide, and try, when possible, to use the varieties they recommend.

Collard Greens, or Collards
These are my hardy greens. Mi favorito greens. These ladies will take you through the winter, and they’ll only be better, come February.

Green Onions
Why not? They are incredibly easy to plant, relatively cheap, and bring in that little bit of spring tang from the garden.
This time of year I replace a lot of our alliums with green onions. Alliums are bulbs such as onions and garlic. A similar spice can be gotten from green onions, or garlic scapes, as they appear. I love this cheap way to get our oniony veggies and our green veggies so easily from the garden.

Radish Sprouts
We’re not huge radish fans around here, but once the weather gets nicer, everyone starts craving fresh, homegrown food. Radishes can be planted early in spring and survive some cold nights. They are hardy and abundant, if not delicious. We like their sprouts more than the bulbous root traditionally eaten. The sprouts have a quick tang, but do not overpower the tongue with their taste.
We sprinkle them on salads, or as a garnish on top of stews. I munch them while I garden. All this picking of the sprouts amounts to thinning, and in a month or a month and a half only perhaps 20 radishes will be left in each planter. These radishes will have been given space to grow as they got bigger. They will now grow their bulbs and we will still have more radishes than we know what to do with. Pickled Radish anyone?

Peas
Peas, peas, peas. They are the loveliest things to plant in spring. We get to make little trellises for them, and they taste so sweet. Yum yum. Plus you can plant them on valentines day.

Salad Greens
Yes, I know this is not a specific veggies, but plant them all. I’ve got spinach and mesclun mix planted right now. Spinach has done well for me before, and not so well at other times. Same with the mesclun mix. I’ve had luck with head lettuce, and not. Bok Choi and Swiss Chard both seem to do fairly well. Mustard always does well, but we are not quite spicy enough for it.

Plant on

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

