Sand Paper

As part of learning to work with wood, I will be sanding two pieces of furniture in our house. Our friend recently gifted us the high chair that her son had used when he was younger. It had been chillin in her garage, and had gotten a bit yucky. It has since been cleaned up, but still needs some love in the form of a wet cloth, some elbow grease, and some sand paper.

The finish on the tray of the high chair is chipping off, and that is no good for little babies. River will constantly drop her food on that tray, and the food will pick up little bits finish, and that finish will go right into her mouth via an apple slice. No thanks. So I’m going to sand down the tray and put some natural finish on it so my baby can eat in her very own chair. Oh what freedom, for her and me. I’m really looking forward to it. My goal for today is to sand down that tray.

I also (eventually) hope to sand down the lovely little round table that recently came to love with us. It was loved up for YEARS by my stepdaughter, and many an art project occurred on it. It has little pen lines, and some glue on it, so I’d like to sand that off and refinish it.

Here’s to making the old new again.

20130402-112912.jpg

20130402-112934.jpg

20130402-112951.jpg

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baby, turning waste into want, Women's Woodworking Initiative, wood. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

