on and on

Planted in the first three rows in my new garden. One row of beets, one of collard greens, and one of swiss chard. The swiss chard and the beets will look identical when they are both young. This planting was made possible by my wonderful friend who gave me some rabbit poop. Rabbit manure is one of the few manures that you can plant directly into. It is so gentle that is does not kill the seeds. The rest if my garden still needs to be fed compost or manure before I can plant into it.

In other news, my mother in law is here visiting us for a week. It is always a treat to have another adult female in the house. I appreciate the help with housework and baby watching so much. It’s almost like a vacation for me.

Which brings me around to the fact that I AM about to go on vacation. In three days I will be heading back home to Northern Michigan (the northern part of the lower peninsula) for two weeks, to visit friends and family alike. If you don’t hear from me much it is because I am enveloped in hugs and watching everyone dear to me hold my baby.

But there will lots to report on once I return. Compost for the garden and planting, planting, planting. The chicken tractor is nearing completion, and I’ve just now picked out the fabric for my new quilted potholders. My hubby got me a shelf greenhouse that I will be erecting upon my return.

So stay tuned. May peace be with you.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in animals, baby, chickens, crafting, garden, kitchen, quilting, sewing, Women's Woodworking Initiative. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

