Egg Gathering Apron

Years ago I made a prayer flag for our chickens. It was an inspirational flag for the ladies and it hung in their coop. A hand stitched square of fabric with a beautiful egg pattern on it. After hanging in the coop for a several years the flag made its way outside to hang in the fresh air of their inclosure.

This spring I noticed that the flag looked a little worn. It was sun bleached and just, well, old.

So I hatched a plan (no pun intended).

I took that prayer flag down, cut the bottom third of it off, and re-stitched it back on over the new bottom edge. Then I stitched up the sides of this flap, and made a seam up the middle. I threaded some of my favorite cloth ribbon through the loop at the top and sewed it in place.

I created an egg gathering apron.

I hope that in a year or two, when River is old enough to interact more with the chickens, that she can wear it to help collect their eggs. Until then, who knows, perhaps I’ll sport it some.

20130423-001305.jpg

20130423-001331.jpg

20130423-001402.jpg

20130423-001421.jpg

20130423-001454.jpg

20130423-001537.jpg

20130423-001607.jpg

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in animals, baby, chickens, crafting, parenting, sewing, thrifty, turning waste into want and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

