My Grandmother’s Bird Quilt

Hanging in my Mom and Dad’s house is a quilt that my Mom’s Mother made. She created this quilt when she was a young woman, I believe in high school. The quilt has one square for every state in the U.S. In each square she embroidered the state bird.

Here is a picture of the quilt and a few photos of squares up close. It is surprising to me that several states have the same state bird.

20130427-224722.jpg

20130427-224757.jpg

20130427-224936.jpg

20130427-224957.jpg

I love that we have family history like this. A beautiful, physical remnant of those who lived before us. My grandmother was a crafter, and this was one thing we really connected on. She made me a quilt when I was a child, and she made our family several afghans. She was also a canner and a homemaker.

Although we lived far away from each other, I felt lucky to get to know her better as an adult. We became regular pen pals and grew closer. I am grateful that I was able to visit her several times in the last few years of her life.

Here are two photos of her. She passed away last spring.

20130427-225350.jpg

20130427-225417.jpg

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in crafting, quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

