Weighing It Out

Yesterday my husband recommended that I use organic liquid fertilizer on my potted herbs and in my veggie garden. I balked at the idea, but quickly questioned my own reaction.

In certain ways I am a minimalist when it comes to gardening. I try to make the plants get by with as little as they can. As little sunlight, and as little fertilizer. Although this sometimes works out just fine, I often end up with spindly plants that don’t produce well.

So I have to question myself and my not too productive ways. What is my goal here? Am I running an experiment station to see how shady a backyard can be and still produce food (yes!), or am I trying to grow decent amounts of food for myself and my family?

In past years my garden had produced tons of tomatoes, garlic, collard greens, and mint. Other veggies and herbs have come and gone, but these are our mainstays.

But woman cannot live on collards alone. Spindly vegetables don’t keep the family fed, and let’s admit it: no one wants to eat them anyway.

So I hearby declare that I will take help from my husband this summer and attempt to really grow some family feeding food.

But the liquid fertilizer… Yuck. I’d like get a big load of the yummy city made compost from our wonderful home – Portland. The city collects our yard waste and food scraps, composts them, and then sells the compost back to residents. They drop it off by the truckload, so there is no packaging waste. And it is local.

But my hubby has insights and knowledge I need. I want buff veggies, and I think I need his help. Let’s see where teamwork will get us.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in compromise. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

