New Fun Batch of Natural Toys

Today I took River to the doctor and then afterwards we hit up my favorite kids resale shop, Sweetpea, on SE 13th Ave. Well we lucked out, because today these guys had everything I was looking for.

Check it out –

A friend in MI was on the look out for wooden instruments for her son.

20130508-135314.jpg

You can see River is testing out these fun toys for him!

One of my other friends lives in Wyoming these days. I’ve been meaning to get her kids presents since Christmas! She said her daughter would like something for her play kitchen and her son would like some sort of wooden truck. Here are their ‘Christmas’ gifts!

20130508-135732.jpg

20130508-135749.jpg

At the doctor’s office River was totally digging her wooden bead pushing wire thing (I have no idea what they’re called, but everyone will recognize it). In Michigan, at a friend’s house, River got absorbed in playing with a baby abacus. Ever since I’ve been wanting to get her something similar. Sweetpea had about 10 choices in this realm. Go Sweetpea. Here’s what we came home with –

20130508-140230.jpg

Any reader with small children knows how boring it can get to read the same books over and over. We’re in the cardboard book stage, so the words are minimal and repetitive. I was in need of some new literary inspiration.

20130508-140435.jpg

Love this illustrator.

River LOVES a book called My Shapes. Mis Formas. This book is by the same author/illustrator. These books help kids and grown up alike with their spanish (and or english).

20130508-140643.jpg

Well it was a good day for us at the kid store. For anyone who lives in the Portland area I highly recommend checking out Sweetpea resale kids shop in Sellwood. They have reasonable prices, a great selection of young children’s clothing, cloth diapers, and natural toys.

http://www.sweetpearesale.com/

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baby, parenting, thrifty, wood and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

