Structural Work in the Garden

Since I am reclaiming garden space from a blackberry patch, there is lots of work to do. Although I am already starting to plant the garden, there is still structural work to be done.

I have already removed most of the blackberries, but there are still some along the border, holding down the old fence that is to be the trellis, and just next door in the neighbors’ yard.

After these are completely dug out, I will need to right the fence and hold it in place. Then I will plant un mexcla de pumpkins, squashes, cucumbers, and beans up the fence trellis. I have already sown some sunflower seeds back there too, in with all the plant rubble.

Then the garden needs to be fenced in to protect it from chicken beaks, cat paws and human feet. It makes me sad to fence in a garden. It makes it feel so caged in and limited. But I loose good crops each year due to my non fencing, and I need to get more practical about growing veggies. So fence it off I will.

Today I sunk in two stepping stones in the garden. Each one is made of two bricks from the brick pile I unearthed when I cleared out the space. Perhaps they were garden steps in their last incarnation too. Or perhaps they were a plant border.

Tomorrow I’ll try to post some garden pics. It is happening. Slowly but surely I’m building a garden.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in garden. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

