Tented Garden

Today the sun got so hot that I had to protect my baby plants. The little transplants were wilting in the heat even though the ground was moist from two weeks of rains. So I blocked them from the intense rays by rigging up fabric from the craft room as make shift awnings. I also placed big empty garbage cans in front of some plants to keep them out of the sun.

By the time the coolness of evening returned they were strong and healthy looking once again. And I swear all the plants were a little greener.

20130601-233906.jpg

20130601-233920.jpg

20130601-233936.jpg

20130601-233949.jpg

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in garden, struggles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tented Garden

  1. Baker Family says:

    I’m glad you were able to cover your plants. We live in NC, and have a 30′ x 50′ garden space. It took me about six years to understand that I cannot plant anything in the months of June and July, and it’s questionable in the first two weeks of August. I cannot tell you how many crops we’ve lost due to the excessive heat and humidity. This year, I planted our peas and potatoes in the last week of January, and the first portion of our Summer crops in the last week of April. I’ve still got about three more weeks before the potatoes will be ready to gather, and I’m wondering about what to do with the empty space. Our winter is so unpredictable. It could start in the second week of December with very mild temps, and then turn to freezing in the month of February, or it could start in October with tough freezes right on through March. Quite a challenge when deciding what to do with the garden!

    Do you set a certain number goal for the amount of produce that you can and freeze each year?

    • Erin O'Neill says:

      Wow. What a big garden. That is great. I was looking a bit on your site yesterday and saw that you try to plant enough to feed your family during the winter. That is quite an accomplishment.

      I lived in North Carolina for nine months, but not during the summer. I’ve heard that summers there are very hot. Probably great for certain crops like cucumbers and melons, but also very challenging. North Carolina ( I believe ) is a state like Oregon in which you can grow some things, like greens, all winter long. That is a wonderful bonus.

      The heat is becoming a challenge here. I have some, but not all of my tomato starts in. We had cool weather for the last two weeks, which would have been great transplanting weather, but accompanying the cool weather were very heavy, harsh rains, which can damage fragile transplants.

      I am now trying to find cool times of day to plant in my remaining starts. I hope it will not stress them too badly.

What'd ya think?

