Canning Dates

My best canning friend and I have set some dates. You’ve already seen the photos from the pickled asparagus. This coming Saturday we are canning up strawberry jam. In July we plan to make both fermented and canned dill pickles. Late August holds the first of our tomato canning dates. We hope to go pick tomatoes at a local u pick. Or better yet get their bruised up seconds. Then we will bring them home, go to sleep, wake up, drink coffee, and can. Then we will can some more. Yes, we have a three day tomato extravaganza planned. Let’s hope there are ripe tomatoes by the last week in August.

I also have a raspberry jam making session planned with another friend in early July.

* * *

This year I am trying to be very practical about my canning plans. I know what my family eats. And I have done the math to figure out how much of each thing we eat.

Take jam for instance. We are a big jam eating family. As you may have noticed, I bake our bread, and we eat lots of toast. Most mornings we eat toast with jam and eggs. And my husband and I drink coffee. Anyway, we eat about a jar of jam a week. There are 52 weeks in a year, therefore we eat approximately 52 jars of jam a year. This means that if I plan to make all of my family’s jam, that I must make 52 jars this summer. For the last few years I have made almost all of the jam we consume, and I intend to continue this trend.

Strawberry is the family favorite. I am going to try to make 24 jars of low sugar strawberry jam this coming Saturday. That will be roughly half of the jam we will need for the year. If I make 12 jars of raspberry jam and 12 of blueberry then I will have 48 jars of jam. Add in a few apricot (a personal favorite), maybe some peach, and a bit of apple butter, and we have a full year’s worth of jam. And each fruit ripens at it’s own time. How considerate.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in canning, pantry, preserving. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

