Garden Growth

Things are looking good out there. Lots of green lush growth, but not much to eat yet. I snack on peas as I garden, and I munch garden sorrel just about very time I walk past it. We have fresh mint and some fresh greens to contribute toward salads. The garlic scapes may feature in tonight’s dinner.

20130617-180539.jpg

The potato plants are luscious. Here is one growing next to a store bought cherry tomato plant that has started to flower. Most of the foliage is from the potato.

20130617-180829.jpg

The parsley is harvesting too.

I’m harvesting weeds too and feeding them to the chickens. They like fresh snacks since they’re cooped up inside their enclosure. River helps me feed them the greens and likes to watch them eat.

20130617-181037.jpg

Speaking of babies, here is River playing in the garden. This big patch of dirt is where I tried to bury in the potato stems like you’re supposed to. Instead the stems just flopped over and I let my kid play in the dirt. Check out the fun kid sized garden tools I rediscovered from when my stepdaughter was young.

20130617-181319.jpg

See, the dirt pile is like a sandbox. Entertaining for her and less stressful for me because I’m not worrying about her ripping plant leaves.

20130617-182048.jpg

Pumpkin plants vining!

20130617-182130.jpg

Succession planting in a planter. The bigger greens are lettuce and the tiny sprouts are basil.

20130617-182254.jpg

Here are the pea plants. See all the spots where I have eaten peas?

20130617-182428.jpg

Here’s another example of succession planting. This is swiss chard. The bigger plants toward the back are the first planting, while the younger ones closer up are the second planting.

20130617-182608.jpg

This zucchini plant is getting so big. It seems to have the exact same shape as it did when it was young, but is about 5 times the size.

20130617-182735.jpg

Here you can see how I am using densely planted greens (lettuce and such) as a ground cover in between my tomato plants.

20130617-182911.jpg

The broccoli raab is doing quite well. It is bulking up and starting to form heads. This morning though I had a moment of panic when I saw one of the heads with an open flower on it. I thought that I had failed and that my whole row of raab would flower before being harvestable. But I tried to stay calm and thinned the row. I think the plants were competing from being planted too closely together. Let’s hope the thinning helps. This is my first try for this crop.

20130617-183408.jpg

Baby time!

20130617-183457.jpg

One last look at the whole luscious garden.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in chickens, garden, harvest, parenting, struggles, thrifty. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garden Growth

  1. Baker Family says:

    It looks fabulous. I love the way you’ve planted the lettuce in between the tomato plants. I can see where the lettuce will eliminate the potential for weeds to pop up as quickly as they would if there wasn’t anything in the way. It took me several summers to finally find a method for our tomato planting that didn’t require constant weeding! Right now, I’ve got them grouped rather close together. The ‘row’ is three tomatoes wide and about thirty long. I put a cage around each one, burying them about 6-8 inches in the ground. Then I shoveled dirt over from the outside edges of the ‘enlarged row’. I’ve not had any sort of weed problems in that portion of the garden. Perhaps next summer though I will try adding salad in between some of the plants, making better use of the space I have!

What'd ya think?

