Cucumber Sprouts!

This morning, on my garden stroll, I saw that the first cucumbers had sprouted! This is very exciting. There is a big bunch of them, and they look healthy. The package said to plant 5 or so seeds together and thin them down to the healthiest 3 I believe.

There are also cucumber starts in the ground that I purchased from the store. I bought lemon cuke starts and regular cucumber starts. The regular ones are doing great and are reaching their tendrils up the twine I dangled for them. The lemon cukes, however, did not make it. They didn’t look too burly and so I planted all three starts together in the clump of soil that they came in. They grew weaker and weaker and eventually withered away. Perhaps they were crowded. Or perhaps they were already weak by the time I bought them. Who knows. I read that cucumbers aren’t prolific when planted from starts, but my other ones seem to be doing great so far. We’ll see. The death of the lemon cukes was what prompted the planting of the cucumber seeds.

By the way, did I mention that my neighbor righted the other half of the fence! Awesome neighbor. I am so grateful. I wasn’t sure I would get around to it. That’s where I planted the cucumber seeds, along with butternut squash seeds and more green pole beans.

Goodbye for now.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in garden, thrifty. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

