The Garden Is So Big!

Here are some pictures of the garden as of yesterday –

20130629-085340.jpg

Potato mania!

20130629-085416.jpg

Here are two pumpkin plants intertwined. Can you spot both the powdery mildew and the pumpkin blossom?

20130629-085608.jpg

Sorry a few of these are not the most clear. I decided to bring my camera along on my morning garden stroll so I could show you folks what was going on. Yesterday’s morning garden stroll was more like a dash.

Anyway, you can see the bean plants, the squash plants, and the cukes lining the fence. The cucumbers are beginning their assent up their fence trellis.

I am suddenly doubting my own wisdom in planting summer squash along the fence. I think that soon I will have no place to walk.

20130629-090151.jpg

Here also my walking is hindered. The potatoes have grown over the stepping stones I placed, and over the walkway I patted down with my feet.

20130629-090414.jpg

The tomatoes have grown large in their cages.

20130629-090501.jpg

Lush. Celery, greens, and the one garden sunflower.

We ate our first small stalks of homegrown celery the other evening in rice salad. It tasted so good. I haven’t been buying celery lately and my mouth rejoiced upon tasting it. I know – it sounds totally cheesy, but it is true.

20130629-090839.jpg

These are a bean plant (right) and a cucumber plant (left) planted along the fence trellis. I love to watch their leaves get bigger. The cucumbers are sending their little feelers up the strings I tied in place for them.

20130629-091145.jpg

It may be a bit hard to see, but this is a row of cucumber seedlings, squash seedlings and bean seedlings. I planted these seeds later after my awesome neighbor righted the second half of the fence.

The biggest plants to be seen in this row are dandelion greens. I let dandelion greens grow in my garden and then harvest their roots. In normal lawn soil dandelion roots are extremely hard to pull up, because the dirt is so packed down around them. But in fluffy garden soil they come up quite easily. Dandelions are good medicine. They help with blood sugars (remember, I am diabetic), as well as help regulate many other body ailments. I wash the root, with reverence, and then chop it up into little pieces. These I set on a drying screen, or a plate, to dry. When they are fully dry and hard I place them in a tiny jar. Then all winter long I drink them in tea. I mix mine with calendula flower petals and rose hips. Dandelion root gives tea a bit of a heavy taste, which I like, because it is reminiscent of the black teas I so enjoy.

20130629-092226.jpg

Big squashes against the back fence. I hope to soon be harvesting some zucchini from these two plants.

20130629-092328.jpg

Mad greens. I asked my husband to participate in an experiment with me and stop buying salad green for a bit to see if our garden could provide us with all the greens we need right now. My garden and I have never been able to do
this yet. I told you, I’m not the world’s best gardener.

20130629-092654.jpg

Here you can see the big squash plants rubbing their spiny leaves against my delicate basil. I hope it will be ok. I’ve considered cutting off that particular squash arm, but it’s the biggest one, and like I said, I’m anxious to have zucchini.

Ok, I’m off to take this morning’s garden stoll.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in garden, harvest, thrifty. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

