300 Pounds of Tomatoes

Today I became ‘the lady who wants 300 pounds of tomatoes.’ I heard someone call me this on the phone as they handed the call off to another store employee. I guess that’s me, the lady who wants 300 pounds of tomatoes.

Do I want them? Well I’m not sure. ‘The lady who needs 300 pounds of tomatoes to make her dreams come true’ would be a more accurate name.

Well my my tomato dreams aren’t going to come fully true. Some of you may remember that this spring I stated my intention to can 150 quarts of tomato sauce, all the tomato sauce my family eats in one year. That was before I knew I had to move.

My best canning friend and I still plan to carry out our three day long tomato canning extravaganza. We’re just lowering our expectations in regards to the final result. Processing 150 pounds of tomatoes each we can expect to each take home only 30 quarts of tomato sauce. So we now plan to make diced tomatoes, whole peeled tomatoes, and sauce.

Bye for now

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in canning, kitchen, preserving. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 300 Pounds of Tomatoes

  1. meg says:

    I’m super impressed! I was thinking of doing a total of 50 over the summer and though that was crazy…Have fun!

What'd ya think?

