Admission

I’m not sure if anyone follows my blog closely enough to notice that I did not post for five days last week, but there was a reason behind it. I was struggling so hard with moving. I started to write a post about it but decided that I sounded winy. I felt like perhaps I was making too much of this move when so many people are struggling with hard times in life. I thought folks would rather read about bountiful harvests and successfully finished craft projects. But in retrospect I feel that it is important to share the struggles as well as the successes. Because no one feels accomplished every day of their life. Surely I don’t.

Although at this moment in time I am definitely feeling better, I have been struggling with this move. We really loved our location within the city, our house, and our landlord. We live walking distance to a couple who are close friends of both my husband and myself. And so we saw them frequently. I could walk to do all our errands. We also put lots of love and time and energy into transforming the land. Only to have it taken away before the first full harvest is in.

It has been frustrating and disheartening. It has made me question the belief that I live by of making each place I stay more beautiful than it was when I came. And it had made me downright sad. Packing up all of our belongings and hoping that the box they are will not remain buried under other boxes for years to come. You may think that is unrealistic, but while packing for this move I finally found my wine glasses, my stepdaughter’s doll house furniture, and several children’s books that were missing. I still have yet to find the dress up bin.

Anyway, at this point I am simply moving forward; accepting reality. But it has been a struggle. And I thought I should make that clear.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in struggles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

