Homemades at the Hotel

These few littles pieces came with us to the hotel, grabbed up in a frenzied moment of packing.

20131004-220443.jpg

20131004-220520.jpg

20131004-220554.jpg

Friend made bread and jam; given as a gift to us to soothe our panicked souls.

20131004-220745.jpg

Homegrown tomato, amidst to-go soy sauce packages. Underneath you may spy a homemade kitchen cloth.

20131004-220842.jpg

20131004-220905.jpg

20131004-220929.jpg

These home canned items do us good. Since staying at the hotel I have eaten enough quick take out food and semi junk food to last me for six months. I feel worst about River’s diet. She is the one who is building a whole little body right now.

20131004-221245.jpg

Star baby I made for River when I was pregnant with her.

20131004-221352.jpg

And of course, the baby quilt. I am so darn protective of this thing. I felt like I was grabbing it as I ran out of a burning building. Over dramatic, I know, but I could not leave it behind. Note to self: make the next baby quilt brown so I won’t care if it gets dirty.

These homemade items remind us of who we are. They remind us of who we want to be. They help us to feel cozy in a world of chain stores and fast food. A world that is largely anonymous and sterile.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baking, canning, crafting, sewing, Wool and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

