Play Kitchen

A few days ago a beautiful family heirloom came to live with us at our house. This play kitchen was made by one of my husband’s forefathers for one of his foremothers. We’re still a little fuzzy on the details. I need to call my mother in law and get it figured out. My husband thinks it was made for my mother in law by her grandfather.

Up until a few days ago it was living at my stepdaughter’s mother’s house. My stepdaughter turned 12 this fall and feels done with the play kitchen, at least enough to let it move to her other house.

It has been passed down through the female members of my husband’s family, which is very cool. My mother in law played with it when she was a girl, my stepdaughter played with it, and now it is being passed on to River.

River LOVES the play kitchen. It is set up in our kitchen, close enough to the stove so that we can work together, but far enough away that she is out of splatter range. I realize that it will be vitally important to let her play with real food. She wants to be doing what mom is doing and has little tolerance for pretending. Give her real work, or she will have a fit!

Here is the beauty:

IMG_5292IMG_5293

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baby, home, kitchen, pantry, wood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Play Kitchen

  1. Wren says:

    That is so gorgeous. I have been dreaming about building a play kitchen or dollhouse for my daughter with my husband, but neither of us have any carpentry skills. This is just so beautiful, love the dark wood!

    • Erin O'Neill says:

      I know, it is hard to manifest our carpentry visions without woodworking skills. Have you heard of the Women’s Woodworking Initiative? It is women encouraging other women to try working with wood. I bet you could do it. It might turn out a little funky, but that is part of the homemade love, right?! All of my woodworking projects turn out super funky. But I’ve seen some really simple play kitchens. Maybe you could find a simple design to follow online. Good luck!

What'd ya think?

