Worm Casting Compost Tea

I know this blog has strayed a bit away from the garden during our move. But we have been here two weeks now, and things are slowly rolling along. Today we harvested worm casting compost tea and gave the garden this good medicine.

20131102-011344.jpg

Here is the worm casting compost tea pouring out of the valve on the bottom of our worm bin.

I expected liquid to pour out when I opened the valve. We’ve had this worm bin for over a year. But we have left it covered, I guess that only happens if water has poured through it.

My stepdaughter helped me figure out how to create the ‘tea.’ She said that I should sprinkle water through the layers of worms and casting and we both figured it would quickly drain down to the bottom layer without drowning the worms.

It worked great. I’m not sure if this is how other folks do it (?)
Anybody else out there have worms or worm knowledge?

20131102-011908.jpg

This is the top layer of our worm bin. We have a good number of happy worms and lot’s of worm castings. You can also see some slightly yellowed beet greens I gave them from our planter.

I need to refresh my memory about how to collect the delicious (for plants) worm castings themselves. If my memory serves, you only spread new food scraps over half of each layer. All the worms migrate to the area with the food, and supposedly you can harvest the worm castings on the other side without fear of harvesting your worms as well. These are not worms you want in your garden. You want them to stay neatly inside their worm bin.

20131102-012502.jpg

Here is a shaky picture of the whole worm bin.

20131102-012632.jpg

Here is my leg an my stepdaughter’s shoe. Worm binnin’ it.

20131102-012801.jpg

Here is River joining us.

We then diluted this dilute and used my watering can to sprinkle it on the garden. I foliar fed the plants with it too, just by gently sprinkling it on them during low heat intensity. They need it, the garden is literally put in on scrapped up soil where the weeds had short roots and Doug Fir needles fall each day.

This soil will need loving up. Building up. I kind of feel bad about changing the environment under those trees. And I kind of feel excited about developing a forest garden. And I kinda got no other choice, if I want a garden here. And I do.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in garden, thrifty and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

