Life on the BackYard Farm

So much is happening here.

The garden is growing every few days.

20131106-232810.jpg

There is a garden once again. In fact, it is made up of some of my very same plants. I dug up a few that were getting crowded out at my old house. The fall garden greens are growing up there. Here, now, in my little fall garden I have in the ground collards, celery, and arugula from my last garden. I have beets in a planter, leeks in a planter (wanting to go into the ground), and kale from a planter (in the ground). By the way ~ I had two little kale plants. And now I have only one, though it has grown sturdier. But you cannot even tell that the first one ever existed… Weird.

Anywho, I have have my sweet little sprouted garlic, with more of that to put in. And a spouted onion which is doing quite well, and two parsleys, which are regenerating splendidly.

20131106-233144.jpg

20131108-003045.jpg

20131108-003109.jpg

20131108-003137.jpg

20131108-003200.jpg

We’ve got big time helpers carrying the chicken compost out to the chickens.

20131108-003418.jpg

20131108-003439.jpg

20131108-003502.jpg

And we’ve got chickens here! The ladies are back! Free ranging in style, but just for about an hour and a half a day. They get to take a dirt bath, scratch for bugs, and eat some grass. They seem content with it. The days are short and dark anyway. They’re on their perch by 4:30.

20131108-003801.jpg

And we’ve got food. Lots and lots of yummy food.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in animals, baby, baking, chickens, cooking, garden, home, kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

