Homemade Fall Food

My cupboards are a bit bare, but this has inspired me to be a creative cook. Out of eggs? Whip up some pancake batter and pour plain yogurt overtop with homemade apricot preserves.

20131108-004419.jpg

Needing a little pastry love? Whip up some no egg, applesauce, walnut, baking soda instead of powder muffins.

20131108-004926.jpg

Here is steak from our 1/8 of a cow, along with polenta and green beans.

20131116-213354.jpg

The homemade bread I said I was going to bake, with raisins and rice:

20131116-213557.jpg

20131116-213625.jpg

Quinoa salad on large romaine leaves:

20131116-213811.jpg

And last but not least, a giant quiche featuring caramelized cabbage, leeks and onions. Making the most of the simple veggies we have.

20131116-214006.jpg

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baking, cooking, home, kitchen, pantry, thrifty, turning waste into want. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

