Christmas Past and Present

Christmas was quite lovely this year. The day itself was mellow and nice. I would like to say that we got through the holiday without any drama, but that would be a lie.

Most of the drama was probably in my own head. Here in our blended family, things can get a little sticky around the holidays. Who will be with who when, where will celebrations take place, what will we do where and with whom…

I think it is very hard for most of us to experience love without possession. I try to remind myself that truly loving someone means wanting what is best for them. This lets me (sometimes) take my own desires out of the picture and let things flow.

We are growing as a family. Growing up as a family; the adults as well as the children.

We can do it. We will be here, still doing it in the days and years to come. Growing up.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in parenting, struggles. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

