The Yard Is Coming Together

Our yard is finally starting to take shape. The progress is small, but real.

We have put in the beginnings of several distinct spaces. Here is the low down:

Raspberries: We have a raspberry patch! So far I have planted three big shoots into the ground. These were from the raspberry that had lived at our two other houses and was given to me by a close friend. I am so happy that my husband dug these up so that I could bring them with us to our new abode.

So far the raspberry patch looks rather bare, but hey, it’s winter.

 

IMG_1070

The shelf greenhouse is up and ready for me to start some early seeds in it! It has blown over more times than I would like to admit (or have be true)…

IMG_1069

So I have officially posted up the shelf greenhouse by the wall of the chicken coop. Here it will be supported when the wind comes blowing. Also, the chickens still have a heat lamp on (and no solid front walls to their coop!  – temps have been mild though), so this bit of extra heat will help the baby seeds and starts about to come.

IMG_1387

Of course we have the little garden going. Things are growing, slowly, but other things are dying, in about equal proportions. I’m really proud of myself that I have been able to let go of the idea of having a big amazing garden right now, and just go with it. We’ll see what the spring and summer bring.

IMG_1068

I hung a clothesline. It has been used some, but I have since realized that it needs to be placed between two trees that are closer together and that this new configuration will allow for me to string it back and forth. So, although the space is smaller, there will be two parallel lines strung.

IMG_1072Here are our lovely ladies, Dundren and Nimbus, making their rounds  : )

And here is their home:

IMG_1073

I built this sweet little hut out of downed Doug Fir branches from our yard. It leans against a giant Doug Fir tree, right near Rudy’s new favorite hang out spot. It creates a cozy, dry space for sitting outdoors, especially if you’re a dog or baby. I can kind of  fit in there. It also provides an easy way to tidy up all those tree limbs that come down in wind storms.

IMG_1063 IMG_1064 IMG_1384Isn’t he beautiful?

And last, but not least, the bulbs that River and I planted maybe a month ago have started to sprout! Hooray! The first peek of spring…

IMG_1370 IMG_1374

Still to come: We hope to plant herbs around the property, as well as strawberries. My white canopy will be set up with comfy outdoor furniture and used a meditation space / hang out space. We will need an outdoor eating area. A compost bin has yet to be made or bought. And of course, we’ll need fencing; fencing around the chicken coop and around my garden. Especially before the new chicks arrive!

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in garden. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

