Organizing the Back Room

I was successful in my venture to organize our back room. This room serves as our back porch, mudroom, and laundry room. It stores many things for us. It is also the site of my baby seedlings, started this winter for planting this spring.

Here is what the back room looked like just after I first started clearing stuff out. I forgot to take an initial ‘before’ picture, so keep in mind that the room was even more packed with stuff than it appears here.

 

IMG_1835 IMG_1837

Here is the table being moved out of the back room. I did all this by myself, and I am proud. I’m a small woman, but I know how to use my muscles when I need to! River took the most amazing nap and I was able to do most of the organizing in the hours that she slept.

IMG_1838

The organizing book that I read said that it is important to have a ‘staging area,’ where you can put all the stuff that you need to sort through. I chose the kitchen floor. Here are the piles of stuff that I cleared out of the back room.

IMG_1847 IMG_1848

These are all shoes that we don’t wear frequently. We have two shoe racks, yet still have more shoes than will fit! So I pulled these shoes aside to free up room on the shoe rack. Then I pulled these handy dandy hanging pockets out of the shed. My mom gave me these, and they work great for storage that takes up very little room. On is filled with shoes that we don’t often wear, and the other is filled with our hats, gloves, and scarves. It eliminates the need for ‘hat baskets’ that take up floor space near our front and back doors.

IMG_1858 IMG_1857

And here is the well organized shoe rack.

IMG_1854

This is the back room newly organized.

Sorry some of these pictures are not the clearest. I was in go mode.

A couple of details of the newly finished room…

The plant table. I brought this in from the shed. Now my tiny seedling have a bright window to give them light, and a solid surface, , on which to grow strong.

IMG_1845 IMG_1855

And here are the big house plants. You are witnessing a marriage compromise. My husband doesn’t want these plants in our house anymore because 1) our new house is tiny, 2) the cats try to poop in them, and 3) these plants aren’t as beautiful and healthy as they were before the hardships of the move. So, we have agreed to have them live in the back room, and I have created cardboard covers for their bases, so that the cats cannot poop in their soil. The back room is unheated, but protected, and there is a window in the kitchen door that I can open to let some heat out onto the porch. The plants seem relatively happy under the sunlit window. As for the cats; well, they just sit on the cardboard and look at me.

IMG_1856

 

 

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in animals, baby, compromise, garden, home. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

