Mint Tea, Fresh Eggs, and Pea Planting

Another cold has come our way. Luckily, so far it seems to be the type of cold that allows one to still function in life.

Inside I have a cup of homegrown mint tea seeping. Bubba Grace, the cat, and I are outdoors getting a bit of work done.

The chickens are hanging out eating grass and bugs in their temporary chicken tractor. I simply took the plastic floor out of the small cage we use for transporting them, and laid the bare cage on the grass. The ladies readily let me pick them up and place them in the cage. They have been in their coop for over a week. Nimbus, our black and white chicken, got attacked by a hawk, but survived. I heard the scuffle and ran out cawing. The hawk flew up and away. At first I thought she was dying, but amazingly she made it through just fine, and is even laying again. Here is a picture of them in their temporary chicken tractor-

20140221-152355.jpg

The chickens love to free range, and I love to let them. But it currently seems to be a choice between death and freedom. So we have to compromise.

The ladies have been laying regularly again, which is a wonderful gift to our family. Cruelty free animal protein.
Thank You Ladies!

Here is a picture of one of Nimbus’ eggs, next to our healthy purple kale plant that I purchased this fall and planted in December.

20140221-152752.jpg

Here are the sister kale plants, purchased and planted along with the first-

20140221-152852.jpg

20140221-152932.jpg

Our overwintering garden may be minimal, but I am still feeling the rewards of getting a few plants in the ground when we first moved. Some people may say that producing a minimal amount of food is not worth the effort, but I strongly disagree. Any way in which we can provide for ourselves and reduce our dependence on agribusiness and petroleum in food production and distribution is positive.

You can see that the garlic is getting hearty-

20140221-153325.jpg

20140221-153415.jpg

20140221-153453.jpg

Fresh celery, springing up from its roots. I thought it was an annual, but sometimes plants survive longer than you would think in our mild Pacific Northwest climate.

20140221-153659.jpg

Parsley!

20140221-153753.jpg

My one strong arugula plant. This little guy made it through a summer season, transplanting, and several winter snows.

20140221-153917.jpg

We also have green onions sprouting, along with fresh herbs and some beets that I’m guessing will provide us with beet greens only (they’ve been through a lot of trama).

Our little overwintering garden is bringing me joy here in February. It gives me hope that even through the turmoils of life, my efforts will come back to me. My love and labor will be returned in the form of beautiful vegetable matter.

And the effort continues. Here is the patch of earth where I planted avalanche snow peas today.

20140221-154544.jpg

And here is the patch of new soil, waiting to warm in the sun.

20140221-154630.jpg

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in animals, chickens, compromise, garden. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

