Homemade Chewy Granola Bars

While grocery shopping the other day I was looking at bars, in their tiny cardboard packages, expensively priced, and loaded with sugar. I wanted some fun treats to put in my stepdaughter’s lunch, but couldn’t justify feeding her those bars. So I decided to go home and try my hand at making some myself.

So I came home and gave it a go. I used the Barefoot Contessa’s Recipe . I like her recipes because they are simple and un-intimidating and they often use ingredients I keep stocked in my cupboards. I altered them slightly (per usual), to include the ingredients I had on hand, substituting walnuts for the almonds, and dried cherries, raisins, and yogurt covered raisins for the dried fruit that she recommended. I made these bars gluten free by using toasted oat bran instead of toasted wheat bran. I also used only honey to sweeten them instead of honey and brown sugar, as called for the the recipe. I figured why add sugar to a dish that doesn’t need it. However, after tasting the bars, I believe that the all honey approach made them a bit too high and sweet. Next time I will pair it with something salty and grounded, like peanut butter. But they still turned out great, and we have had yummy after school and lunch sweet treats at a low cost and without all the icky ingredients.

20140307-103044.jpg

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baking, cooking, kitchen, parenting, thrifty. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

