Picnic in the Rain

As I have searched for ways to create family togetherness it has become apparent that for us, simple is better. I originally dreamed of days spent hiking on Mt. Hood, camping trips, and weekends at the coast. Those may happen, here and there, but it is a lot easier to create small pockets of family time close to home.

Today we had a parknic. In case you are wondering, a parknic is a picnic in the park. I made us up a simple lunch of nachos, 3 bean salad that my husband had made, an apple, and a bar of chocolate. I took a to go mug of coffee, and packed a water bottle for the kids.

River fell asleep in the stroller just before we left, which allowed my stepdaughter and I some nice alone time. It wears on the older kids in a family when a new baby gets all the attention, and I think it’s important to try to carve out little moments to spend with just the older kids.

Well anyway, today it was raining. Sprinkling, more precisely. But we went on our parknic anyway. I packed a couple of big umbrellas, and our outdoor blanket, which has waterproof fabric on one side, and off we went. The bottom of the stroller was loaded with nachos, and extra pairs of dry shoes. The top of the stroller was loaded with our sleeping baby.

We had a lovely time. My stepdaughter had a little umbrella tent to keep her dry, and we giggled and ate nachos with our hands. It was fun, easy, and free. And it all fit into the time it took the baby to nap. Hooray for family time.

20140308-145013.jpg

20140308-145029.jpg

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in compromise, parenting, thrifty and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Picnic in the Rain

  1. knross says:

    really enjoy your blog.

What'd ya think?

