Field Trip to Naomi’s Organic Farm Supply

Today we took a field trip. River and I went to my favorite urban farm store, Naomi’s Organic Farm Supply. I love their vibe, their cute homemade signs, and I love the fact that it’s owned and run by a woman (and her partner and friends and mom).

These guys carry a very practical selection of products for the urban farmer, as well as enough of the cuteness to make me excited about my practical projects.

This time of year they always have chicks. River and I looked at the little cuties. I want to get two more (same as last year), but my husband thinks we have our fill of responsibility (same as last year).

20140401-183510.jpg

20140401-183645.jpg

20140401-212157.jpg

Sweet hand painted signs.

20140401-212224.jpg

Food for your average household pets like cats and dogs, as well as food for your farm animals such as chickens, goats, and whatever eats alfalfa : )

20140401-212625.jpg

Our seeds. Naomi’s has the best seed selection in town, by my standards. They buy their seeds only from small, local seed savers who specialize in plants that grow well in our area. I really appreciate that. I’m supporting like minded folks, both when I shop at Naomi’s, and when I buy seeds there.

20140401-212834.jpg

Hay hey hey

20140401-212859.jpg

Pitchforks. You know you love it.

20140401-212937.jpg

20140401-212951.jpg

20140401-213005.jpg

20140401-213020.jpg

River had a great time pushing the cart, and getting little rides on it when it got too heavy for her to push.

Well I wish I could have taken more pictures to show you, but it’s tricky enough just to shop with a toddler. This store has an amazing book selection (if I had a thousand dollars to spend here, it would not be hard), and their seed area is so sweet, as are there wonderful plant starts, also from small local farms. I love to support this business because of the dedication Naomi’s Organic Farm Supply has to the small urban farm movement. They are always willing to give gardening or animal raising advice. And for me it’s always fun to shop there.

Check them out:

Naomi’s Organic Farm Supply

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baby, chickens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

