Spring Celebration Preparation

Our family spring celebration is one week away. Although I have been preparing, bit by bit, on my own, the bulk of the crafting is still to come.

Yesterday my step daughter and I modge podged some paper mâché eggs. I bought the eggs at a crating store for a hefty $10 a dozen. I also modge podged some real eggs that my dad had drilled holes in and blown out. Those will be strung on ribbons and hung from our fruit tree.

Here are some pictures of the process. They are not overly beautiful, but they are real. I covered the table with some trash bags that I taped down. The elemer’s glue and water mixture we use to adhere the tissue paper would stick to the table forever, so better to protect it.

20140413-085502.jpg

20140413-085520.jpg

20140413-085532.jpg

Here is an egg that my 1 1/2 year old daughter started. I had some lala dream that she could totally help out with the process, but I think that only would have panned out if her sister or myself had been holding her, helping her, at all times. As it went, my husband watched her while we crafted, which was just fine with us and less frustrating for all.

Here are some photos of the finished eggs.

20140413-085741.jpg

20140413-085759.jpg

20140413-085812.jpg

20140413-085851.jpg

I am really pleased with how they turned out. It was so nice to craft with my stepdaughter again. It is something that we bond over, and these little moments are so precious to me lately as she grows older. It feels especially important to have time to bond with her, since I devote so much time and energy to her sister, the toddler.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in crafting, parenting, turning waste into want. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

