Four Chickens

20140505-134910.jpg

Well, we have both of our new chickens here with us now. In this photo you can see Dundren, Nimbus, and River welcoming them to the hood.

Our newest chicken has now been moved into a dog crate that her person graciously lent us. She has hay, water, food, and grass. At the moment her crate is covered by a blanket so that she can calmly rest. Both chickens have had moments of panic, although they have stayed calm more often than not.

20140505-234214.jpg

20140505-234227.jpg

She laid us a big brown egg today and ate out of our hands. I think we got two chickens who are used to people, so that is cool.

Nimbus and Dundren seemed to do ok with the new arrivals. They did, however, come into the back room of our house today to ask me what was up and receive a little reassurance. I sat outside with them on the grass and fed them grain out my hand.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in chickens. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

