Figuring It Out

I am trying to get organized. Throughout my life I have been a moderately disorganized person. Oh, I have labeled folders for important papers, electronic and paper calendars and address books. I have systems for some things, but not for others. And I am not rigid about using my systems every time.

The spaces I live in have also straddled the line between organized and not organized. Since having a baby I have really been trying to keep my house tidy and to get it together as far as organization is concerned. But I’ve had a baby this whole time. I now understand why people hire nannies, and housekeeps, use day care, or let their kids watch TV. Because doing this full time, full on, is a lot. It is enough to wilt a mother. But on we go.

Anyway, I digress. Back to organizing.

Since we moved into our 1000 sq ft (rented) home this fall, I have done a good job of organizing the main living spaces and keeping them tidy. The house is laid out well, so that when you walk in you see the dining room / living room and the kitchen. The doors to the bedrooms can just be shut, and the house looks great. Even the bedrooms have come along well. My stepdaughter takes care of her own room, mostly, and I now have the guest bedroom almost completely cleaned out and organized. All I have left to do is remove the second sewing desk that housed my serger.

I even organized the mud room / laundry room. And it has stayed organized! There are just a few areas of chaos left in our home – but boy are they scary.

The craft closet – ahhhhhhh! Oh my goodness. Where to begin. We have this huge closet running along behind the guest bedroom. It is great. But I have it jam packed with all things crafty. Plus our blanket chests. Plus our holiday decorations. Plus boxes of photos and CDs. Basically anything that I am afraid to sacrifice to the mildew land of the shed.

So my goal with that is to transform it into the most beautiful of displays, such as you would see in a crafting store. That is one of next tasks. And has been for six months…

The back end of our bedroom – this area houses my husband’s poster collection, my step-step son’s hope chest, my mom’s old doll cradle, two of my dressers, my daughter’s dresser, and a huge desk. I had initially thought to make this nook our little office, but it soon became a pile of things that had no where else to go. Time to dig in and sort out.

The shed – ummm, the shed is crazy. My first goals are to get rid of the big piece of old carpet, and give the empty boxes to our friends who are moving. After that we need to host a work party. It is way too crazy.

20140510-100821.jpg

These have been my guides in this process of transforming my way of being. They are very helpful, since this apparently does not come as easily to me as I wish it did.

So wish me luck. The craft closet awaits me. Who knows what I will find in there.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in home, organizing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Figuring It Out

  1. I think I need to get those books! Sounds like you are on the way to a less chaotic future – good luck 🙂

  2. Disorganized is my middle name. 🙂

  3. Tilly Frueh says:

    I have the book It’s All Too Much — Can’t say it’s helped a whole lot, seeing as it is part of the clutter I’m always trying to eliminate. Maybe someday. Good luck, I’ve been trying for 25 years to get the clutter under control and am still trying. I guess that’s all one can do.

What'd ya think?

