The Easy Way

Let me show you two recipes for polenta:

20140531-145516.jpg

20140531-145656.jpg

These are recipes for making homemade polenta. The thing I want you to notice is that the stovetop recipe says stir for 20-30 minutes until a wooden spoon stands up in it on its own. The other recipe says microwave for 8 minutes, stir, microwave for 3 more minutes.

Hmmmm…

I have made polenta on the stovetop. I have stirred continuously for 20 minutes. It has made me dread making polenta even though I love it and think it is so cool to have made it homemade.

I am going easy on myself. Into the microwave go the cornmeal water and salt. I feel great about this. As we age, each of us dreamers must decide for ourselves how to arrange our lives. For me, learning that a mixer can kneed bread dough, or that homemade polenta can be crafted in the microwave, are saving graces. Especially when the polenta is just a base for an elaborate casserole containing these:

20140531-151205.jpg

20140531-151243.jpg

And these:

20140531-152406.jpg

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baking, compromise, cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Easy Way

  1. Tilly Frueh says:

    I can so relate! As the years keep speeding by, I tend to look for those areas where I can shave just a little time from whatever I’m doing. Love my breadmaker for making dough, love the food processor for chopping onion, love the mandoline for slicing potatoes, and love the kids for sweeping the floor. Like my hubby always says about the kids, “What’d we have them for anyway!” As they get older, I tend to borrow more and more of their time, to give me more and more of my time back. Maybe not fair, but I’ll enjoy it while I can, then I’ll have to go back to brainstorming more options for dustless tables, crumbless floors, and the dream of having more time than I know what to do with.

What'd ya think?

