Home Hung Garlic

Here is a picture of some of last year’s garlic harvest.

This is soft neck garlic, which allows for one to braid the stems. I love how it looks braided as a decoration, And having it hanging in the kitchen makes it easy to pluck off a bulb for use in cooking.

20140606-144030.jpg

However, soft neck garlic produces small cloves, and I find their papery skins hard to peel. Next October I think I will plant mostly hard neck garlic, perhaps a hardy, pungent variety like German Red.

As evidence of my finding this garlic hard to peel, I will show you how much I have left…

20140606-144530.jpg

I still have the majority of last July’s harvest hanging in my kitchen. And this year’s harvest is just a month and a half away. Time to start using garlic. And time to change up my garlic variety planting choices.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in harvest, home, kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Home Hung Garlic

  1. Tilly Frueh says:

    I haven’t tried it, but have heard that dropping a garlic clove in boiling water for 20 seconds makes the skins fall right off. Maybe this would work. I have a rubber cylinder that I use to clean my garlic, but they are the larger cloves and store bought. Wish I had some home-grown. I’ll have to see if I can add that to next years garden plans.

  2. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post and thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. I didn’t realise that there were hard and soft-necked varieties of garlic. Agreed – the soft variety can be hard to peel (I think that’s what I have).

What'd ya think?

