Fresh Strawberries!

Hi Guys,

Sorry it has been so long since I posted. I accidentally deleted all the info and photos off my phone, simultaneously making it so I couldn’t post up blog posts with it. I will get it figured out again, I’m sure, it is just a matter of having the time. But life is full this time of year (when isn’t it?), with freezer filling activities like strawberry picking.

River Rain and I went to Sauvie’s Island last Wednesday with two friends and picked the local delicious variety of Strawberries called Hoods, which are named after Mt. Hood I believe.

Here is the little one in her strawberry picking gear-

IMG_0011

We picked half a flat of Hoods in an hour. Then I bought another pre-picked flat at the checkout table. $20 for a full flat of strawberries seems like a good deal to me since they are twice that at the local natural foods store. The full pre-picked flat was also of the Hood variety.

Here are the strawberries in the trunk of my car.

IMG_0014 IMG_0015

 

That night, after River was tucked into bed, soundly asleep, I watched a movies with headphones on and topped strawberries into the wee hours. I froze the entire full flat.

Here they are in the freezer-

IMG_0017

Today I bagged them up, and tonight I must freeze my hand picked half flat. They are getting a bit soft, but they will still be delicious in the winter, during the long grey months when our cupboards feel bare, and fruit is either apples, or shipped in.

Here’s to local, hand picked fruit. Horrah!

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baby, harvest, parenting, preserving, thrifty. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fresh Strawberries!

  1. Tilly Frueh says:

    Michigan strawberries are supposed to be ready for picking this Friday. I am itching to get out there and pick. The kids said they want to come, but I’m not sure they’ll last as long as I want to be out there picking. Last time we went, two years ago, I picked three flats. I’m sure I’ll make more than one trek out to the strawberry patch, so at least once it will make a nice memory to do it with the kids regardless of how many strawberries we pick.

  2. epov88 says:

    I love strawberries šŸ™‚

What'd ya think?

