Garden

Hello Again.

I am out in the garden a lot these days, and boy is it growing. I feel I haven’t shown you enough of the garden this spring. And now it is summer. Officially and by ambient air temperature.

Here are some new photos-

IMG_0095 IMG_0103IMG_0124

Nasturtiums, grown from seed. The first nasturtium bloom opened today.

IMG_0098 IMG_0099Chickens and the garden. A fence protects my veggies. I learned the hard way. Now I know.

IMG_0101Turnips turnips turnips! I have 3!

IMG_0110

Baby broccoli

IMG_0112Bolting lettuce bought as starts. These wonderful ones fed us throughout the spring. Mostly they fed me, but they also went into the creation of occasional all family salads.

IMG_0118New smaller lettuces that I grew from seed. I started them indoors in February and they are now getting large enough to pick from.

IMG_0125These little guys will grow into storage onions. I have quite a few planted around. A circle of them around my second planting of peas, some interspersed in a planter with lettuce (that the chickens and baby sadly have harvested a bit prematurely), and many interplanted in the main garden bed.

IMG_0122A cucumber and a sunflower growing together in perfect harmony. It is a bit on the late side to plant each of these, but I am still within the time limit, and I have faith in the heat of the summer to come.

IMG_0094Peas! and the aforementioned onions. I planted three plantings of peas several weeks apart, and the girls and I have been snacking on peas for over a month now. Here in Portland, OR, we start planting peas on Valentines Day.

IMG_0100Some Brassica or another going to seed. I let them flower out to attract pollinators.

IMG_0106Garlic! You plant in October, pull in mid July.

IMG_0123Dill seed sprouting. A Michigan friend gave me this seed head out of his garden two years ago, and last week I planted them. I left the seed head there as a marker, so I would know what I planted. Plus, doesn’t it look sweet?

I hope everyone is getting in some gardening time, whether it is on your front steps, in a community garden, or at your grandma’s house.

So long for now.

 

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in chickens, garden, harvest. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garden

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post thank you for sharing have a blessed day

What'd ya think?

