Summer Time

Summer is here, and life is full.

There is so much food to preserve. Our freezer is filling up with fruit. We have gallon zip top bags full of strawberries and raspberries and even fava beans frozen.

Raspberry jam was made, as was pickled asparagus.

20140629-075310.jpg

My stepdaughter’s brother is staying with us. He is 18 and in that transition phase. For rent he does 5 hours of work trade a week. It has been really great to have projects get completed around here. My husband and I both have so much on our plates that it is hard for us to accomplish every project we dream up. My step step son fenced in a huge chicken yard for our chickens, so they’re not free range anymore, but they still have a large grassy and diverse area to call home.

20140629-075910.jpg

The plants are growing like crazy. Our tomatoes flowered yesterday and I swear that bean sprouts turned into full fledged bean leaves in the course of two hours. Last night we ate steamed greens and baby broccoli heads over white rice with olive oil and homemade vinegrete. Delicious.

Here are some photos of beautiful plants that grace our front steps-

20140629-080144.jpg

20140629-080245.jpg

20140629-080321.jpg

And the lovely kitty that graces our front steps-

20140629-080506.jpg

My tiny little daughter has learned to pick up chickens. So there’s that.

20140629-081216.jpg

20140629-081312.jpg

My little one turned two recently. I tried to make sweet felt prayer flags for her birthday, but to no avail. The felt triangles are cut out and lying on the counter. They’ll be sewn in time for my stepdaughter’s birthday. I am working two and a half days a week this summer until August 1st, teaching at an environmental summer camp. It is cool, but definitely takes away from my time for at home activities.

20140629-083854.jpg

Here are some mushrooms my husband found growing in our backyard. And here is the spore print he made from one. I love my mushroom guy.

20140629-084034.jpg

Hope you all are having a fun and nature filled summer. What is everyone up to?

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in animals, baby, canning, chickens, garden, harvest, parenting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Time

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome update and thank you for sharing and have a blessed week

What'd ya think?

