Full

Hi there,

boy, summer is a full time. We have been picking berries like nobody’s business. Our freezer is loaded with them. The garden is growing and growing. So is my little one, who is two now. We’ve had friends come to stay, relatives come to stay, and now more friends are on their way. I’m working two and half days a week now, which has been tricky for our family to adjust to. I think for where we are as a family, it would be better if I were working less outside the home. But life goes on. I am grateful that this fall I will go down to one and half days a week.

Anyway, here are some snapshots from from around here. I know I’ve been posting less than usual. Busy busy.

IMG_0575 IMG_0580 IMG_0539 IMG_0536 IMG_0532 IMG_0552 IMG_0549 IMG_0543 IMG_0564 IMG_0562

Nimbus is still doing great, all things considered. I am amazed. She is 5 years old, and I think she is still even laying an egg every day. She’s a ‘wild’ chicken, so she hides them, and honestly, we don’t want to eat her eggs right now. What a strong and lovely lady.

IMG_0515 IMG_0505 IMG_0508 IMG_0489 IMG_0487 IMG_0477 IMG_0476 IMG_0470

Growing winter chinese cabbage. I know the spider web looks icky, but I welcome spiders in my garden because they love to eat aphids. Eat away spiders!

IMG_0389 IMG_0396

We took a family trip to the Oregon Coast. I mostly read my book and sipped coffee. It was amazing to be alone, at least in my mind. Being a mom of a two year old is both joyful and filled with two year old needs. It feels good to fulfill my own needs.

IMG_0589

I grew turnips!

IMG_0593 IMG_0596 IMG_0613

My friends and I have been going to Sauvie’s Island every other week to pick produce. Mostly berries so far, but soon come more green beans. pickling cukes, summer squash, and then corn. I day dream about a chest freezer. Luckily, our fridge’s freezer is pretty hefty.

River has been doing well on these excursions, but I think that I will bring a long a mother’s helper for a few of the upcoming trips. I know a wonderful twelve year old who wants to help watch my little one, for free no less! I will invite her along, and send her home with some veggies for her fam.

Bye for now…

 

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baby, chickens, garden, harvest, parenting, preserving. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Full

  1. Are they nasturtiums I see? Mine haven’t got any flowers (yet) but the leaves themselves are attractive.

    I know what you mean about me time. Glad you got some 😉

What'd ya think?

