Late July Garden

Here are the garden pictures I promised. Late July, and things are getting big. Tomatoes, beans, and cucumbers are coming on. The sunflowers are about a foot and a half tall. My garden may be behind a little bit, but seeing as I created it beginning in November, I feel pretty good about things. Luscious fruit is growing. Pears overhang the garden. Flushes of greens come and go. Flowers grace the borders. It brings me Joy and Peace.

IMG_0897Yes, beefy green tomatoes.

IMG_0899I love my Nasturtiums. Even though their taste is not my favorite, bits of the leaves torn up in a salad bulk it up, as well as diversifying the taste. And as my stepdaughter says, it’s nice to see some other colors besides green in a garden. I am coming to appreciate this wisdom more and more.

IMG_0915Bean City! Pole beans aclimbin’. We have bush beans and pole beans both producing fruit. I mostly munch the green beans raw as I work in the garden. Same way I eat the peas in the spring.

IMG_0905

IMG_0907

Fall garden plantings. These were started awhile back. Green cabbage and chinese cabbage.

IMG_0919More big beautiful green tomatoes.

IMG_0928Baby swiss chard. Started recently for our fall garden. River helped me plant the seed. It is everywhere in the garden. Hooray!

IMG_0937The garden as a whole.

Enjoy soaking up the comfort your garden has to offer.

Stay tuned for August when more posting will flow like water.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in garden, harvest. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Late July Garden

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    LOVELY UPDATE THANK YOU FOR SHARING

  2. Looking very good. Still waiting for most of my stuff…

What'd ya think?

