Dill Pickles

Today my hubby, the little one and I took a trip to a close by local farm and farm stand. I got two flats of pickling cukes, a flat of blueberries, four bundles of dill, and a few other fresh finds.

IMG_1054 IMG_1062 IMG_1069

Once home, I began my pickling session by making a batch of vinegar dills. As in boiling water bath, quick pickles.

IMG_1074 IMG_1078 IMG_1091 IMG_1095 IMG_1097

 

IMG_1130

As I felt the tiredness coming on I made the executive decision to make one huge, ‘easy’ batch of fermented pickles, thereby saving myself a bunch of labor. I had planned on using the crock anyway, but I filled it. I truly filled it.

IMG_1103

The Crock.

IMG_1105 IMG_1116

A look inside the crock at the ‘aromatics,’ as the recipe calls them.

IMG_1120 IMG_1126

Onions, dill fronds, and underneath, garlic cloves, peppercorns, dried hot peppers, and very locally picked grape leaves (for crispness).


IMG_1133

Cucumbers layered inside the giant crock.

IMG_1136

The cucumbers in their brine. After all this I put a clean plate over the cuckes, and weighed it down with a gallon zip top bag very full of water. I then covered all this with a clean cloth and hid it away in a cool, dark, out of the way spot.

After the 7 pints and 1 quart of vinegar dills had come out of their boiling water bath, and after the crock was full to the brim with cukes and brine, I still had half a flat of cucumbers left over, and a bundle of dill. This is just perfect for another 6 or 7 pint batch of vinegar dills. I will make those in the next few days, before the cucumbers go soft.

And the blueberries, you ask. Well those will get munched fresh, and mostly frozen. I have frozen frozen frozen blueberries for most of the summer. We have two and a half gallon zip top bags in the freezer. Those delicious frozen blueberries get eaten just about as fast as I can freeze them. But that’s ok. That’s what they’re for. Every bit of locally grown  goodness we eat makes our bodies stronger and more vibrant. All this food is for eating I tell ya.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in canning, kitchen, pantry, preserving. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dill Pickles

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    thank you for sharing have a blessed day

What'd ya think?

