Finding Room

My sewing machine has been hiding out ever since my step step son moved in to our guest bedroom. The guest bedroom is now his room, with my sewing table in the corner, and my great grandmother’s quilt on the wall.

Well after his living with us for five months, I decided it was high time to make the room feel more his own. I had been contemplating for quite awhile where we could squeeze in the table in our small, 1000 sq ft house.

Well one night, in a caffeinated organizing frenzy, I pushed aside a pile of semi random stuff in our mud room / laundry room. I called to my step step son and we hoisted the table out of his room, over the pile of stuff, and squeezed it into it’s new home. It fit. Just barely.

20141011-170748.jpg

So now I have a sewing nook. Here, wedged in between the shoe rack, and the clean laundry bins.

20141011-170950.jpg

My organizing books have taught me something. If you have a tiny house, make it work for you. View a nook the way you would view a spare room in a larger house. Heck yeah! I have my own sewing nook! And it’s fairly far away from the bedrooms, which means that the early morning and the late nights are mine. I can sew without the bumping of the machine waking up my sleeping family. Let the season begin. I am ready.

ps, notice my new toddler proof sewing machine case?

: )

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in compromise, crafting, organizing, parenting, sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Room

  1. Helen says:

    Have fun… Still working on a place for my sewing machine 😉

What'd ya think?

